Friday, June 3, 2011

NEVADA - WE A BROKE AND POLS WANT MORE OF WHAT WE DON'T HAVE! MONEY!

une 3, 2011

The following Action Alert was sent out today by a pair of Republican Party county chairmen:

Message to Republicans:
Oppose Budget Deal

Conservative Friends,

The sound you heard on Wednesday was our legislature in Carson City,  cracking under pressure and extending the sunsetting taxes for another two years. This deal proves what we’ve always known – there’s rarely any such thing as a temporary tax.

Nevada conservatives might just as well have let Bill Raggio finish his last two years – we’d have obtained the same result.  I guess when it comes time to make a tough decision, it's just easier to balance the budget on the backs of the taxpayer instead of making the tough spending decisions.
 

We’ll be watching very closely to see who votes for this budget on the GOP side in the legislature.  Then, we’ll watch closely to see who emerges as their primary opponent in 2012.

You see, there’s no reason for any Republican to vote for increasing all of the sunsets. Sure, the conveniently timed Supreme Court decision was a blow to the Governor’s budget, but not enough to continue $600 Million in temporary taxes. Remember the extra money the Economic Forum found in their projections at the beginning of May? That should have been the first money to fill the hole. After that, if some of the sunsetting taxes were needed to get back to the $5.8 Billion budget that Sandoval originally proposed, that could have been debated.

But there’s no justification for bringing back enough taxes to allow the government to spend $6.2 Billion – that’s nearly as much as the government spent this time around, and $400 Million more that Sandoval said was enough just one month ago.

Conservatives are feeling just a little duped, and extremely disappointed.

The governor and the legislators have had their say – now it’s time for Nevada conservatives to have theirs. Contact your Senator andAssemblyman and let them know that just because their leadership has gone back on their word that there’s no reason they should do the same. Look, these tax hikes are probably going to pass unless Jesus himself walks through the door of the Senate and stops them, but that’s no reason for every Republican to abandon their principles.

Remind your representatives why you elected them, and that if they do the right thing you’ll stand behind them and keep this from being their last term.

There are some good solid conservatives in the Assembly and Senate Republican caucuses. They’ve done a great job standing up to pressure from the Democrats for the last four months. Now they’re under pressure from their own leadership to break their promises, and that’s a tough spot. They need to hear from us!

The vote on the tax increase has to happen in the next couple days. Call or email your representative right away – your contact may be the one they need to stand up to their leadership and do what’s right for Nevada.

Sincerely,

James Smack                                                  
Chairman, Churchill County Republican Party     

Marla Criss
Chairman, Elko County Republican Party

Republican Senators:

Mike McGinness           
mmcginness@sen.state.nv.us                775-684-1442
Greg Brower                 
gbrower@sen.state.nv.us                      775-684-1419
Barbara Cegavske        
bcegavske@sen.state.nv.us                  775-684-1445
Don Gustavson            
dgustavson@sen.state.nv.us                 775-684-1480
Elizabeth Halseth          
ehalseth@sen.state.nv.us                      775-684-1421
Joe Hardy                    
jhardy@sen.state.nv.us                         775-684-1462
Ben Kieckhefer             
bkieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us                 775-684-1450
Dean Rhoads               
drhoads@sen.state.nv.us                      775-684-1447
Michael Roberson        
mroberson@sen.state.nv.us                  775-684-1481
James  Settelmeyer      
jsettelmeyer@sen.state.nv.us                 775-684-1470

Republican Assemblymen:

Pete Goicoechea          
pgoicoechea@asm.state.nv.us              775-684-8573
John Ellison                 
jellison@asm.state.nv.us                       775-684-8831
Ed Goedhart                
egoedhart@asm.state.nv.us                  775-684-8805
Tom Grady                   
tgrady@asm.state.nv.us                                    775-684-8507
John Hambrick             
jhambrick@asm.state.nv.us                   775-684-8827
Scott Hammond                       
shammond@asm.state.nv.us                 775-684-8853
Ira Hansen                    
ihansen@asm.state.nv.us                      775-684-8851
Cresent Hardy              
chardy@asm.state.nv.us                       775-684-8857
Pat Hickey                   
phickey@asm.state.nv.us                      775-684-8837
Randy   Kirner               
rkirner@asm.state.nv.us                        775-684-8848
Kelly Kite                     
kkite@asm.state.nv.us                          775-684-8843
Pete Livermore             
plivermore@asm.state.nv.us                  775-684-8825
Richard McArthur          
rmcarthur@asm.state.nv.us                    775-684-8829
Mark Sherwood            
msherwood@asm.state.nv.us                775-684-8839
Lynn Stewart                
lstewart@asm.state.nv.us                      775-684-8823
Melissa Woodbury       
mwoodbury@asm.state.nv.us                775-684-8503



No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment